top of page

The Time's Been Sweet (2010, 2012)

for flute, clarinet, piano, violin, and cello. Premiered at June in Buffalo 2013 by Ensemble Linea, Jean-Phillipe Wurtz director.

The Time's Been SweetB. P. Herrington
00:00 / 08:55

Program Notes

This work is a set of continuous variations on a tune from the Southern Harmony hymnal. After a brief introduction, the·tune is heard in a relatively natural form at Rehearsal Letter A. The subsequent variations range from fairly clear permutations of the tune to very wild fantasias, as if the tune goes in and out of focus.

The tune is almost always present - in one part of the ensemble or another. 

bottom of page